Book Review: The Annotated Turing

Following software to it’s orgins with Alan Turing reveals some interesting trends in how ideas cycle. The Annotated Turing walks readers through Allan Turing’s entire landmark paper on computability. The book prepares the reader with required concepts, clarifies complex sections with examples, and intermixes facinating history about Alan Turing himself. The book quite facinating, but still rather academic. It does, after all, contain the entirety of a math thesis which founded a branch of knowledge.

August 10, 2022 · 3 min

DDD Reading Review

It’s easy to see how Domain Driven Design (DDD) by Eric Evans was such a seminal work. It presents a holistic development process that seems to have predicted the next two decades of development trends. Here are some of my key takeaways from the book.

May 7, 2021 · 5 min

Key Dimensions of Control

Measurement – The types and amount of insights we extract on our students current understanding

February 12, 2021 · 2 min

Self-learning

I see programming as an extended application of problem solving, and problem solving is just a different view on self-learning. Encouraging self-learning makes a team skillful and robust.

February 12, 2021 · 2 min

Climate

I once worked at a startup where the developers were regularly ignored. Try as we might to bring in new perspectives and experts, everything was dismissed. It eventually fell apart with the entire team leaving. This is an example of climate, and a highly toxic one.

February 12, 2021 · 3 min

Motivation and Goals

I come from the world of startups. Companies with interesting products fail every day. Despite novel products, customers are disinterested and avoidant. In software, unit tests are widely acknowledged to be good practice. However, few developers write them. These two cases are prime examples of motivation failures.

February 12, 2021 · 2 min

Practice & Feedback

Repeatedly explaining some idea without perceived progress is frustrating for both the teacher and student. Ideas feel compelling and actionable, but remember, knowledge is both declarative and procedural. Thus, feedback and practice are two halves of one process. Feedback is not effective without an opportunity to practice.

February 12, 2021 · 2 min

Knowledge Organization

Think back to the first post on mastery. Expert blindspot is caused by information obvious to the master and imperceptible to the student, causing both sides to be baffled by the behavior of the other. This can be an issue with knowledge organization.

February 12, 2021 · 2 min

Prior Knowledge

Every student views new information through the lens of prior knowledge. In fact, some researchers suggest that learning requires connecting new information to what we already know. Either way, more connections leads to improved recall and utility.

February 12, 2021 · 2 min

Knowledge Types and Mastery

Defn: Mastery - a high degree of competence in a particular area.

February 12, 2021 · 4 min