Stuckness and Ducks

I read that stuckness is not a bad thing. It is avoiding our stuckness that is the problem. I think living with stuckness is part of why duck docs are so good.

November 11, 2022 · 2 min

Checklists Distribute Power

Checklist Manifesto paints an facinating journey of a surgeon who discovered checklists. The book explores checklists across industries and applications, but one lesson pervades them all: use checklists to distribute power.

September 22, 2022 · 3 min

Book Review: Code That Fits in Your Head

Code That Fits in Your Head tackles a problem dear to my heart. Mark Seemann realized good software engineering practices are out there, but it’s hard to connect the dots between scattered sources.

September 9, 2022 · 2 min

Book Review: The Annotated Turing

Following software to it’s orgins with Alan Turing reveals some interesting trends in how ideas cycle.

September 1, 2022 · 2 min

Small Teaching Review

Small teaching is an engaging and practical condensation of learning research into an accessible read. The book is oriented toward teachers, but is meaningful for anyone who wants to learn more effectively or understand how to share ideas.

March 7, 2022 · 6 min

Reading Review: Software Engineering Body of Knowledge

The Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK) levels up our industry. It collects evidence-based standard practices that every developer is expected to know. This post will establish some background for SWEBOK, cover my high-level takeaways.

July 30, 2021 · 5 min

Reading Review: Professional Software Development

Steve McConnell is best known for Code Complete. Professional Software Development is a much lighter packaging of McConnell’s core philosophy. It establishes up a well-founded view on what the software industry is and could be. Here I’ll highlight some of my key takeaways from the book.

July 2, 2021 · 4 min

DDD Reading Review

It’s easy to see how Domain Driven Design (DDD) by Eric Evans was such a seminal work. It presents a holistic development process that seems to have predicted the next two decades of development trends. Here are some of my key takeaways from the book.

May 7, 2021 · 5 min

Key Dimensions of Control

Measurement – The types and amount of insights we extract on our students current understanding

February 12, 2021 · 2 min

Self-learning

I see programming as an extended application of problem solving, and problem solving is just a different view on self-learning. Encouraging self-learning makes a team skillful and robust.

February 12, 2021 · 2 min